Your Name

August 30, 2007

Heard your name today.
Came from nowhere like a
sharpened pencil,
red and shiny,
coring through my gut.
The corer, she didn’t know.
Didn’t mean to startle.
She launched it
on an outward breath,
slipped it in
to a list of
other names,
tired,
inoffensive,
soft and grey,
just another set of
forenames,
surnames looped around the
more names
always more to know
columns grown and never
noticed, then with
yours in;
your name,
that once I pressed between my lips,
once I said to others
like the corer without blame
is saying now to me;
your name.
Did you know
the one you live with,
tell to callers on the phone
write on forms, sign on emails-
did you know –
to me it’s like elastic
wrapped around a wrist

5 Responses to “Your Name”

  1. My my my.
    This ring incredibly true.
    And so perfectly and fluently written.

  2. Can I put this up on my favoured poems page too?

    Are you published?
    Because you should be.
    And yet, that might ruin the magic.

  3. Clay Lowe said

    I like the rhythm of this poem and the languid sound of names I imagine being called out as I read it.

    peace,
    clay

  4. […] loveliest blogs.  Found one today called “Muttering Lydia.”  Here is an excerpt from one of her poems: “Heard your name today. Came from nowhere like a sharpened pencil, red and shiny, coring […]

  5. Hi again.

    Sorry to be so slow with responding.

    Thanks for all these lovely comments.

    Zaphod, yes, of course, feel free:)

    Clay, nice to have you on my site again

    As for that track back – Wow!I really am honoured.

Leave a comment