Girl out of Religion.

January 7, 2007

Waking still dreaming and seeing the
white hand splayed against the
dark blue blanket I heard you
on the radio; a choir of soaring sounds
picking out the past with an organ.

In the air, somewhere between the
sky and my foot I can see the
tiny church and its lines of
singing people, but I can’t remember
how I came to be there.

I’m recalling the long walk down,
an endless road of Sunday mornings
and the man on the radio
still talking, using the voice
that only men like him still use.

Somewhere between now and
20 years ago, there is a family
holding tight along a second row:
A round woman wearing her best clothes
a tall boy gripping a sheet and

trying his best not to be heard
and a small space, counting the hymns,
screwing down eyes and trying to find
the meaning in boredom. She’s hating the
smell of the dust and the carpet wood

and the cold air that never heats;
She’s praying for it to be over
but returning faithfully
week after week with
no one to make her

but the man that’s still droning
in Truiro Cathedral
and the closed shops and the
old people and the singing families-
they never really go away.

6 Responses to “Girl out of Religion.”

  1. Adagio said

    “Your spirit shines within and exits for others to experience via the windows of your soul.” – Adagio

  2. Bice said

    This is a theme that needs further explored. There is more here to be uncovered. I can feel it.

  3. have you got window locks?

  4. Bice-yes, I come from quite a mixed religious bag…this may well be a can of worms!

    Adagio-very poetic, thanks for taking the time to make such a considered response.

    Fishbone-I have neither window locks, nor insurance…

  5. catherine said

    I no longer know whether I actually believe in religion, but I still enjoy going to church and singing hymns – not every Sunday by a long shot, but when I can bother to make the effort.
    Nevertheless I can recognise in your poem what must be quite a common experience, very vividly described.

  6. Thanks for reading, Catherine-and also for being so empathic-going to church but still understnding the other perspective. As I say, it will always be somewhere in my head as an experience I’ve had-especially as formal worship remains such an important part in the lives of my nuclear family members. My well do some more writing on the subject.

Leave a Reply

