Getting Free.

April 3, 2007

This is not about
me being a woman
This is not about the thing that happened
to my brother
when he was 10 and I was 6.
This is not about
what I decided to do to myself
when I was 16 – and not about
what I continued to do
for the next 10 years.
Everyday. No let up.
This is not about my mothers middle age.
Waiting for me,
laid across the latent ghost of mine
like a question mark – or an answering.
This is not about the worst bits of my father
or the things that I
am most ashamed of having done.
This is not about my empty womb.
Not about the waiting child.
The desire for.
The resentment of.
This is not about Louise Rednapp,
Donatello Versace’s daughter,
Victoria Beckham, Geri Halliwell.
This is not about my flat.
My breasts
This is not about
my boyfriend.
It’s not,
it isn’t

One Response to “Getting Free.”

  1. You have so much great stuff here.

Leave a Reply

