Baby

August 20, 2007

When I was a baby I was born in a hospital.
I was laid in the arms of my mother,
gurgling and heaving and livid with air,
electric light, beating like a heart
from the bulb above my head. I was not laid
in an incubator. Not like my brother,
that windy day in Autumn.
I was born in May, with sun
and buds and flowers,
spilling from the table
on it’s casters,
at my mother’s waist.
My brother,
called dust-bin
when my father
murmered Lydia.
I was born in May.
I do not have a baby.
My brother is father to twins.

3 Responses to “Baby”

  1. gurgling and heaving and livid with air,

    i love this line

    xxx

  2. Thanks hon.

    Not sure about the dustbin lid reference, a bit further down. He called me that because the name Lydia made him think of lids…but perhaps too obscure?

    LXX

  3. James said

    So you’re a Darling Bud of May then. I don’t suppose your middle name is Zeta by any chance?

    I’m glad you’ve put this up on your blog as I didn’t take it all in when I heard you read it out aloud the first time.

    I especially like the line “My brother called dust-bin when my father murmered Lydia”. It’s like a little piece of your family history that has just stuck with time. It reminds me of my parents telling me that I started crying the first time I met my sister after she was born. I have been told that at the time, I thought she wouldn’t be born as a baby, but would come out as a 2 and a half year old (the same age as I was) and so I was obviously disappointed when she arrived and I found out that she couldn’t be my playmate! Kids hey 🙂

    Keep up the good work

    J x

Leave a Reply

