Domestic Life

September 23, 2007

2 days after your 30th Birthday
I asked you if you’d like a drink.
You said yes.
I went into our tiny kitchen,
removed the milk
onto the side board
and used an inch
to make myself a cup of tea.
10 minutes later,
you asked me if I’d like
some PG Tips
and then you noticed
the steaming mug,
freezing sculpture on my lips.
You made yourself
a cup of tea
and placed it on the table
next to where we’d come to sit.
Absentmindedly,
I began to drink
both cups of tea.
I made us both another.

Leave a Reply

