Fantasist 2

December 18, 2007

I saw Father Christmas earlier today.
He was standing in the Bike Park
on the edge of The Square,
fully decked out in a red velor suit
and a curly white beard.

I’d said: “Wow, Santa! –
you here for the Sleigh?”
with a tilt of the head
and wink of the face
and he’d looked

vaguely startled-
the way someone would
who’d forgetten they were wearing
a bright red suit,
but recovering himself

he’d smiled with a grunt
and turned to a guy
with an oil stained front
to say something about
the theft of a bike

and a cheque in the post.
I’d thought – my god – people today –
even – Santa – isn’t – safe –
and – my god
if I was a different

kind of girl, I’d take myself out
and hunt the thief down
with a K47 or a long range gun.
Then I’d remembered
that I’d probably watched

too many seasons
of Tony Soprano and Buffy
the Vampire Slayer.
I paid for my wheel
and took myself off.

Leave a Reply

