Fantasist

December 18, 2007

I saw Father Christmas earlier today.

He was standing in the Bike Park
on the edge of The Square,
fully decked out in a red velor suit

and curly white beard –
checking the progress
of his bike repairs.

I’d said: “Wow, Santa! –
you here for the Sleigh?”

with a tilt of the head

and wink of the face –
and he’d looked vaguely startled –
the way someone would

who’d forgetten
they were wearing
a bright red suit.

Recovering himself
he’d smiled with a grunt
and turning away,

said to a guy
with an oil stained front
something about

the theft of a bike
and a cheque in the post –
and I’d thought –

my god – people today –
even Santa isn’t safe – and
my god

if I was a different kind of person
I’d take myself out and hunt the guy down
with a K47 or a long range gun.

Then I’d remembered
that I’d probably watched
too many episodes

of Tony Soprano and Buffy
the Vampire Slayer.
I paid for my wheel

and took myself off.

One Response to “Fantasist”

  1. Wonderful I like that a lot. prefer the spacing in this version.

    Try ‘AK47’, and ‘high velocity sniper rifle’.

    Damien

Leave a Reply

