Midasia (2nd draft)

February 8, 2008

This is the second draft of a piece I started at a workshop on Wednesday. Not sure how it’s reading. Is it working or not? Not sure whether to take out the first 2 stanzas and start with ‘Here’s what I did’…does anyone have any ideas. All gratefully received…:)

Midasia

I’d always liked trees so that’s where I started.
Those that burst into colour
in the middle of the summer, in the night.

Those that look like lampshades
made of gold. The gold
is important.

Here’s what I did:

I photographed the baubles
from a pound shop,
the raised foil –

from off my mother’s Christmas cake,
a stack of Get Well Soons
their bright, crimped lettering.

I cut the photos into pieces, made them into leaves
and you know what’s coming next,
I built the tree. Ok,

here’s how it really got to happening…

It was an all gold tree.
Gold like Cadburys, Maple Syrup,
candelabras, glittered milk.

I made it – but not really –
it was Midas made me do it,
took me by the hand

and led me through the forest
stopped me at the weeping willow,
handed me the prodder.

He pushed me, made me,
forced me, touch it
and I did –

I wish I hadn’t – it was awful –
curling crunching
as the branches sprang upwards

in a head of ripping foils.
The sap turned molten
and the leaves ran golden

and the birds bounced thudding
on the bronze and blacked ore.
I smoothed the shards off my jacket,

shook the carrots from my pockets –
tucked the wand
into the foliage –

but not before I’d touched his arm.

One Response to “Midasia (2nd draft)”

  1. Pam said

    Yes..that would work..start there..you don’t need any more explanantion in the poem..it’s mysterious and compelling as it is.

    Pam x:)

Leave a Reply

