But at least there’s hot water at 4am…

March 18, 2008

ARgh. Anyone who’s read this blog for a while will kwno that in the past it may have represented me as someone almost entirely obsessed with whether or not they are getting enough sleep. This is because, the rate at which I blog – and often even write poetry! – often increases during stretches of insomnia.

I wake up at 3.30/4am – that sort of time – and not being able to get back to sleep, instead start tapping into Muttering. Unsurprisingly, the content this makes for is not entirely scintillating for the reader. Unless of course the reader is another blogger, also tapping into their own Muttering, unable to sleep and equally obsessed with the fact.

It’s not going to take you a huge stretch of the imagination to work out the point of this post. I woke up at 3.30am, couldn’t get back to sleep, so got up. It’s nearly 5 now and I’ve even had a bath. I’m freak. I know, I know, I don’t need you to tell me.

I also have a number of fairly sleep deprived poems, all on the same subject. As I said, it makes for an alternative slant on what my work’s about. Actually, maybe that’s what it really is about – early morning rising and sleep deprivation, lots of poems about.

And relationships, of course.

Leave a Reply

