Mr Polar Bear (after Louis Macneice)

April 18, 2009

I sit beside you in our usual nook
I wear my coat with it’s kharki hood

and every Saturday I’m here with you.

I draw the attention of the security guard
arranging my gaze, holding my arms

and every Saturday I’m here with you

and here is the church and this is a pew
it feels so good to be with you

and every Saturday I’m here with you

and in this space that’s like a glove,
they cut your fur and took your love

and every Saturday I’m here with you.

They cut your fur and made you tame
They brought you here, removed your name

and every Saturday I’m here with you.

your picture taken in the zoo,
your body mounted like a moose

and every saturday I’m here with you

In this wooden warm musuem
In those stately homely prisons

and every saturday I’m here with you

In your head an arctic circle
in your bones an arctic murder

and every saturday I’m here with you
but I wish I could send you home.

Leave a Reply

