Mr Polar Bear (macneice…)

April 18, 2009

Mr Polar Bear, I’m here for you
in this place that’s like an igloo

Fly home now, or not at all.

Every Saturday I bring my lunch,
I sit beside you, I quietly munch

Fly home now, or not at all.

I sit beside you in our usual nook
I wear my coat with it’s kharki hood.

Fly home now, or not at all.

I draw the attention of the security guard
arrange my gaze, hold my arms.

Fly home now, or not at all.

And here is the church and this is a pew
It feels so strange to be with you

Fly home now, or not at all.

And in this space that’s like a glove,
they’ve sewn your fur, removed your tongue

Fly home now, or not at all.

They’ve wheeled you out and made you tame,
brushed your fur, removed your name

Fly home now, or not at all.

Inside this place that’s like a zoo
where nothing ever, ever, moves

Fly home now, or not at all.

My Polar Love, with Polar thoughts
My Glace Bear, that money bought

Fly home now, or not at all.

Leave a Reply

