Polar Bear Pantoum

April 18, 2009

Well, I’ve had another go. It’s a very, very weird form …

Polar Bear Pantoum

Mr Polar Bear, I’ve fallen in love
and every Saturday I’m there for you.
I bring my lunch, inside a paper glove
brown and crumpled, like for feeding birds –

and every Saturday, I’m searching words.
I sit beside you in our usual place
brown and crumpled, like I’m feeding birds,
and I wear the coat with the kharki hood,

and I sit beside you in our usual nook
and I draw the attention of the security guard.
Wearing my coat with it’s kharki hood
arranging my gaze and holding my arms,

I draw the attention of the security guard.
and I smile at him, ‘cause he doesn’t know
arranging my gaze and holding my arms,
hands like prayers, in a conjurers show

I smile at him, ‘cause he doesn’t know
how it feels to be with you,
hands like prayers in a conjurers show
and here is the church and this is a pew

how it feels to be with you
is the Northern Lights in a Council Flat
and here is a church and there is a pew
but when I’m here, I’m an aristocrat

Are the Northern Lights in a council flat
a thing you have seen?
when I’m here I’m an aristocrat
and you’re a bear, with a human-being.

And is this a thing you’ve ever seen?
a person frozen that isn’t moving
Here is a King and here is a Queen
a polar bear, with a human-being.

Mr Polar Bear, I’ve fallen in love

Leave a Reply

