Jamaican Love Song, after Prufrock

February 1, 2010

Let us go
and sit outside
upon this
wide veranda
where mangoes grow
and palm trees sway
and orange flowers
bloom like flames.
Let’s draw some coffee
from this pot
and sip it gently
while we watch
the cars slip by
like ballerinas
wires stretch
like metal creepers.
Across the road
let’s see the sea
that softly glows
like someone’s dream
let’s see the sea
behind the bar
already open
like a barn
built like a box
from paper wood
it’s sign hung up
it’s cotton hood.
Let us sit here in the shade
and watch the children
run and play
the woman in her Godly hat
her shining arms
behind her back.
Let us go
down roads that burn
down sunlit streets
and sit in bars
where people meet
and drink away the afternoon
and talk to people, buy a cue
of vodka, rum or malibu.
Let us drive
down narrow lanes
watch the children run and play
the children with their
bellies heavy
children waiting
children ready.
Let us go, let us see
the man with dust
upon his feet
the woman with the cateracts
the farmer walking with his axe
the smell of rain
the smell of meat
I think I’ll run along the beach
I think I’ll sit
I think I’ll sleep
I think I’ll walk
I think I’ll creep.
It doesn’t matter what you do
the sky get’s dark
and then the moon.
Let us go now
Let us go
where mangoes grow
and palm trees sway
where orange flowers
bloom like flame.
Let us go
Let us go
and in the ocean
write our name.

Leave a Reply

