Monologue, third draft

February 9, 2010

I’m actually in love
and I built up the courage
and asked her out
but she said no.

But then she started following me around
around the aisles,
everytime I went in

she works in Sainsburies
she’s been working there
for about 4 years,

or something like that
I’ve been going in there for longer
so I know you see.

She looks like
Alanis Morrisette
she’s got this
dark hair
and she wears it in this
long side plait.
Her name’s Lisa.
I saw it on her name tag.

Anyway. I’ve been going in there
all this time and around about Christmas
I finally plucked up the courage.

I don’t think I’d have done it
but it just seemed like
the perfect time

there was this ice rink, outside,
you could see it
through the sliding doors
with people skating on it
and it was really dark, about 5’oclock
with all the Christmas lights turned on
and the lights inside the store
just suddenly seemed to turn
romantic.

She was serving me
on checkout number 6
and she was just asking me
to put my card in the machine

I said it,
it wasn’t anything heavy
i just asked her
if she’d like to go for a drink sometime
with me, maybe
next Thursday, after work
if she was working
and I think the woman behind me in the queue
was listening

and she said no.
Lisa I mean.
she said she couldn’t date customers

and i just said,
oh, right, yeah.
of course

and she didn’t say anything else
just gave me my receipt.

But she smiled at me you know.
and looked really sorry.

I can’t stop thinking about her.
I’m in love,
like the real thing.

I don’t know what to do.

Leave a Reply

