March 28, 2010

I can’t remember the last time that I saw him
I can’t remember the last time that we talked
was it the end of the day, or a Tuesday morning?
was I saying hello, or collecting my mail?

He always waved when I was leaving
He always noticed if I’d cut my hair.
When I went to Jamaica I told him
When I came back home, he was still there.

I wish I’d sent him a postcard on holiday
I wish I’d brought him some coffee
from the Blue Mountain store
He was seeing a woman from Poland

He told me one day, smoothing his hair.
Brian Weeks is deceased
I will not see him anymore
The letter said there was no pain

It was a Saturday, in a hospital
The consiege service is very sad.

Leave a Reply

