Graduation

November 28, 2010

I wore the silly hat
the gown was like a habit

the ceremony went for hours
I clapped after every certificate.

My mother drank
5 glasses of free champagne

my tea-total father even had one
to be sure of getting his moneys worth

We went for lunch in a tiny restaurant
French flags and brisk waiters

My mother cried
too much wine
we talked about religion

We talked about anorexia
and white fish and old attics
diners listened over soup
a couple smiled
as they passed our table.

There was snow all the way
as we drove back home

I slept on a rug
in front of a fire.

I dreamt of reading
and frozen poems

and paper scrolls
and icy tires.

Leave a Reply

