Final Draft: News 24

May 22, 2011

I’m making tea

in the cup from my mother

as news of the wedding

is filling the sink:

Kate and Wills

have been photographed

near the abbey

2 million people

are expected to tune in.

I’m putting on my makeup
in the white plastic mirror

And Burger King are offering

free onion rings

And Cameran says

we can all have street parties

and ignore the laws
just listen to him.

As I’m packing

my bag and looking

for my wallet

50% on DLA

are now well enough
to work.

As I’m leaving my flat

and turning off the telly

The gallery

on Granby Street

has reopened as a pound shop.

As I’m walking down the street

and passing the bunting

The library

on Belvoir street

has been shut down.

The health centre
has lost half it’s workers

And all new appointments
are frozen for now.

And Cameron says
we can all have street parties
and ignore the laws
because he is primeminister.

And Cameron says

we can all eat jelly.

And there are flowers

and a dress

and a souvenir tin.

Leave a Reply

