First Draft

September 23, 2011

in October I put on my space girl suit,
I’m a crime fighting super hero,
I’ve got 90 denier rocket tights
and a button down dress,
like a suit of armor.

I’m losing legs in flowing coats,
forgetting bra straps into sand,
I’ve left my sarong in Gibraltar
with a closed umbrella and a bronzed man.

It is October and the heat has risen,
the leaves have settled into iron grates
and I am mostly wearing

my mother’s cast offs
her seventies shirt
with my nylon dress.

It is October and I’m casting off vest tops
I’m turning my wardrobe into a booth
I’m spinning around in a tardis
I’m confirming my shape
in a green cagoule.

October, borollo, sangria and merlot,
October, genoa and earl grey tea,
October, I know her, she’s a woman
in a boa, she’s a cloud grey cover
and a flame red suit.

2 Responses to “First Draft”

  1. Looking forward to seeing more of this poem, Lydia.
    Love it, love autumn 🙂

  2. Thanks, Jayne. Had been starting to think it was finished, but your comment spurred me to look again. Getting somewhere, hopefully…:)

Leave a Reply

