Lost Boys

October 31, 2006

We are like lost boys,
running round inside a lost house.
Lost in a place that folded like a note,
has been mislaid.

Someone, somewhere-
was meant to get a memo about us
but something went wrong and the paper
dissolved like water- and now we are here.

I don’t know what this place is.
It is a white cave of blind electric light
with lots of things in. It’s like a place
I half recall-like I’ve been here before-

but not here. This place is colder.
There are no doors and the windows
are frosted up with dust. We do not clean
them. We are just children. Lost boys,

a boy and a girl, you and me, we
have forgotten everything. There is mess.
We pick our way through it like goats
traversing rocks: Yellow eyed and hungry

making more with every step and our
corridors have collapsed with the weight of
clothes hooks. There is an upturned bag and
a dark red raincoat, pooling shiny

like heavy blood. This place has no rules.
We make them up then break them
Once, there was a place where even air smelt good.
A place like this, but not like this, a place that

Wasn’t lost. There was order, rhythms we could
understand. There was safety and reason and
context, like a compass, like a timepiece, like a
small brass metronome ticking in our hands.

Here, there are no clocks.
It gets dark and we know to sleep.
It gets light.

3 Responses to “Lost Boys”

  1. M. Allen Cross said

    This is what this work says to me: This world is not my world, it is the world of the grown-ups. I saw adulthood as a child but did not understand it. Now I’m here myself but I’m lost in it. I accumulate but never acclimate. More than anything, I long for the comfort and familiarity of childhood again.

    Wonderful piece.

  2. Thanks Allen. You’re response to the piece is a poem in itself.

  3. whitenacho said

    I get the feeling of misguided, institutionalized, children that come from a once tangable, normal existence. It’s quite haunting and frightening.

Leave a comment